Do you practice KY despite YB?

Kundalini Yoga, White Tantric Yoga, Ashrams, Daily Life...
Senin

Do you practice KY despite YB?

Post by Senin »

I have always dabbled in various kinds of yoga. One time I obtained a KY tape from Gurumarkha. I tried it. I loved it. I started practicing to it regularly. So I investigated KY further. The more I looked the less I was fond of the organization. So, I got to the point of, I loved the practiced, but I knew it was all thrown together by a con man. So I face a dilemma. Keep practicing or stop altogether?

Anybody else come to this crossroad?
What did you do?

Now I practice hatha yoga but I do some asanas dynamically and include some breath of fire. I don't want to acknowledge that I am doing KY.

forget-me-not

Re: Do you practice KY despite YB?

Post by forget-me-not »

No, no more KY.

Both the yoga and the religion drew me in to 3HO, but over time KY seemed to always hurt me. It felt too harsh and the meditations were too busy- not contemplative enough. Sikhism OTOH felt like what I had been searching for all my life, especially when all the complexities that Bhajan added to it were stripped away.

So I had no desire to continue KY after leaving Bhajanism but I very much desired to keep my relationship with the Guru. I don't consider myself a good Sikh, but I still consider myself a Sikh.

forget-me-not

Post by forget-me-not »

If I were to do yoga again it would be Hatha yoga for the gentle stretching. My journey into yoga started with a Hatha yoga class during a high school fair. Then my boyfriend introduced me to "Richard Hittleman's 28 Day Yoga Plan." That still seems like a good method.

In that Hatha yoga class, the teacher taught us "bellows breath" which was exactly the same thing as Bhajan's "breath of fire."